Unusual Centerpieces

Everyone is trying to save a buck these days, especially with the crazy statistics showing that the typical wedding costs 20k. So while trying to save green, brides are getting more and more creative in coming up with arrangements that don’t include crazy expensive fresh flowers.  For instance, my first blog friend (Yay), Ms. Locket (yep, she’s a bee!) is currently working on making an incredible silk flower bouquet:

She made all those!

Which brings me to my next point, non-flower centerpieces. I know what you are thinking! For shame! How dare you suggest such wedding blasphemy! How could you call it a centerpiece if it doesn’t have proper flowers! BUT wait! stay with me here, it can be done. More importantly, it can be done TASTEFULLY. Take a look for yourself:

Succulent Centerpieces:

From yespleaseblog.blogspot.com

From Apartment Therapy

From HGTV

So I guess what I’m trying to say is, try thinking outside the box and you’ll be amazed by what you can come up with.

I leave you with this quote from Colin Cowie, as told to Rebecca Mead in One Perfect Day: The Selling of the American Wedding,

“Your wedding…is an opportunity to make a statement of style to your family and friends…So everything you do should be an expression of self. There are no rules today in weddings, so my advice to the bride is, be guided by your own sense of style. So long as you are not offending anyone and your personality is shining through, then embrace that idea to the fullest.”

I take that as a “heck yea” and fist bump to the DIY bride.

2 thoughts on “Unusual Centerpieces

  1. bluebutterfly10

    AHHHHH!! Thanks for the plug to me!! I feel like a mini-celeb to be mentioned in your post! I adore the succulent centerpieces too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

