Chapstick: A love story

Seeing as this is a wedding blog, I suppose I should tell how about I got engaged 🙂

Once upon a midnight dreary…oh, wait. Wrong story.

So one day, my boyfriend says to me, “Oh, mark your calendar, in two weeks, we’re going on a date.”

“A date?” I ask. while in my head I’m thinking, We’ve been dating for five years, we don’t go on dates.

Why?” I ask.

“No reason,” he says.

“Where?” I ask.

“In D.C, at Spezie (fancy Italian joint)” he says.

“With who,” I ask.

“No one, just us,” he says.

At which point, I am skeptical but behave myself and ask no more questions as I have ruined MANY a surprise by badgering him too much, causing him to cave and tell me. So I just said “okay.”

Every so often, until the actual date, he’d ask me with great enthusiasm, “Are you excited for our date?!!” and I always replied “Yeah…sure,” as I was not quite sure what to make of his excitement.

Our date was scheduled for Saturday. The Thursday before the fateful night, I came home from work sick as a dog. I spent that night in the bathroom, clinging to the toilet for dear life. Friday morning, I called in sick as I felt like crap. Boyfriend stayed home that day too because he had to help his grandparents move.

As I laid face down in bed face down, contemplating death,  he sweetly rubbed my back and said, “Now, I know you don’t feel good right now…but…do you think you’ll feel better by tomorrow…by 7pm…for our date?” Yes. He’s THAT obvious (but I love him just the same!)

As I rolled over and give him the death stare:

I  thought to myself, SERIOUSLY?! ARE YOU SERIOUSLY ASKING ME THAT RIGHT NOW?! But instead I responded with “…yeah. I think I should be fine by then.”

Once I felt better, I called my mom to give her an updated status on my health and upcoming date. She suggests I go treat myself by getting a mani/pedi so that I look nice for Saturday night. I know what you’re thinking, D’OH! Maria’s MOM! You’re giving it away!” But that’s not the case, I promise. My mom’s always telling me to get mani/pedis. After going back and forth with her for 30min about how I shouldn’t bother getting one, I finally oblige her and get my nails did (BTW, she did know what was up for Satuday, bc he did ask my parents beforehand 🙂 )

So finally, on Saturday night, the clock strikes 6 and  I’m ready to go, catching boyfriend off guard (people expect me to run late. I’m Hispanic, it’s in my genes).  He says, “uh…we can’t leave yet! It’s too early! Our reservation isn’t till  7.” I get huffy and sit on the couch while he goes and gets ready. He comes out wearing a SUIT, much to my surprise.

We are t-shirt and gym shorts kinda people so its not often we clean up so  I said,  “let’s take photographic evidence of this rare occasion”

Little did I know, I am leaning against the coat pocket with the ring box inside. Poor boyfriend’s heart is beatin SUPER hard in this pic while I’m like “La, La, La, we look so nice” 😛

Stay tuned for the rest of this silly story….

3 thoughts on “Chapstick: A love story

  1. Sarah

    So cute. You guys look ADORABLE together. I love his *subtle* ways of getting you excited for your date. Mine was a surprise too, and I have no idea how my FI actually remained completely calm!

    Reply
  2. Jessica

    Oh hey– you wrote this in July. Why don’t I comment now? Okay.

    I love the picture, I can only imagine what he was thinking! But I’m glad you weren’t sick on the night of your engagement (LIKE I WAS!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

