Tuna Salad-Hold the Mayo

In my ongoing quest to be healthy and such (and hoping to lose some excess poundage in the process) I made some tuna salad for lunch the other night. And not just any ordinary salad, but a tuna salad without mayo! Some tweet by Self magazine made me think of it. I think it was about making unhealthy foods healthier. I then proceeded to Cooking Light‘s website and found a recipe for Tuscan Tuna sandwiches.  I improvised the recipe some as I didn’t have all the same ingredients on hand. I used tuna packed in olive oil, a small chopped yellow onion, capers, chopped sun-dried tomatoes, fresh basil, salt and pepper. Oh! And a squeeze of lime juice. It was so bright & so full of flavor!

I made the fiance a sandwich with it, and threw some on top of a head of romaine with cut up cherry tomatoes for me.  Quick and easy lunches make for one happy Maria. My in-house Tuscan gave the recipe two thumbs up the next day when he enjoyed it for lunch.

Last night I was trying to make BBQ chicken pizza like the one you can get at California Pizza Kitchen, but that didn’t work out since I was missing key ingredients like red onion (maybe I need to go grocery shopping :-P). Instead, I made home-made whole wheat pizza crust, and topped it with sauteed mushrooms, garlic, onions and broccoli and then covered all that with shredded, Italian seasoned mozzarella.  Another winning recipe!

I think I’m doing good with this, “let’s eat less meat,” business.  Hopefully I can keep it up!

P.S. I’m a geek and got super excited when I saw that King Arthur Flour is hosting baking demos in MD in November (Thank you, twitter!)! #1, it’s FREE and #2, the topics sound YUMMY, Sweet Pies & Tarts, & Sweet Yeast Bread! They’re hosting events in OH, IN, OR, WA, DC, MD, & TX this fall – check out their full schedule for details!

Leave a Reply

