Bluffin with my bran muffin

Poor bran muffins, they don’t get a good rep as far as baked goods go.

Oftentimes, they are too dry, too heavy, and  just plain blahhhhh. However, what else was I suppose to do with my box of bran? After wading through tons of bran muffin recipes, and not being satisfied with any of them, I made up my own. I started with a recipe from allrecipes.com as the base, and by piecing together parts from the suggestions section to correlate with what I had on hand, this was born:

Bran Muffins

Makes 16 muffins

Ingredients:

2 c. orange juice
1 c. raisins
1 c. shredded carrots
1 c. light brown sugar
1/2 c. canola oil
1/4 c. honey
5 eggs
1 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. whole wheat flour
2 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
4 c. bran flakes

Directions:

1. In a small bowl, combine o.j., raisins, and shredded carrots. Set aside.
2. Pulse 4 c. of bran flakes in a food processor. Combine cereal with flours, baking soda, salt and pumpkin pie spice in a medium bowl.
3. In a large bowl, combine sugar, oil, honey, and eggs. Mix well.
4. Add cereal mixture into sugar mixture.
5. Fold in raisin mixture into large bowl. Batter will be thin but will thicken as it chills. Cover and refrigerate for at least 3 hours.
6. After 3 hours, take batter out and let stand at room temperature as you preheat the oven at 400’F. Be sure to grease muffin pan (avoid liners). Fill muffin cups*. Bake for 25min. Cool in pan for 10min before moving muffins to a wire rack.

* I filled the muffin cups all the way because I like big tops to my muffins but I’m sure if fill them 3/4 of the way, you’d get more muffins than I did.

They came out great! Not too dense, perfectly moist, and just the right amount of sweetness.  I was pretty darn proud of myself! And the best part was that because of the pumpkin pie spice, the house smelled of gingerbread! Mmmm, I just love that warm smell. Reminds me of FALL!

P.S. The title of this post is not only referring to the muffins but also to…the person who’s concert I’m going to see tomorrow night! WOOT!

2 thoughts on “Bluffin with my bran muffin

  1. lifeinwhite

    Yum! I happen to love muffins, especially the apple bran ones at Cracker Barrel. Have a great time at the concert!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

