Be Careful…

…or I might try to steal your man with my chicken tetrazzini!

So while getting my daily fix of thekitchn the other day, I came across an entry about a book called, I Hate to Cook Book. It was written in the 1960s and was recently republished for its 50th anniversary.

I was intrigued as not only was the title was giggle-worthy, the cover art was cute to boot. I just had to see what this book was about! Seeing as I work in a law library with an interlibrary loan department, I asked my friend to request the book for me and it finally came in! And it is HILARIOUS!

It is written in very tongue in cheek manner which makes for an amusing read. Regardless if you like to cook or not, I suggest you pick up a copy, as it is a riot!
Here are some snippets:

This book is for those of us who want to fold our big dishwater hands around a dry Martini instead of a wet flounder, come the end of a long day.

Most of [the recipes] are quick to fix. Actually you can’t trust the word “quick” any more.  Some cookbooks, when they say “quick”,” mean that you needn’t grind your own flour…We must face facts.  If a recipe calls for eleven different chopped ingredients and cream sauce and a cheese-topped meringue, you don’t call it “quick” if you hate to cook.

We who who hate to cook have a respect bordering on awe for the Good Cooks Who Like to Cook–those brave, energetic, imaginative people who can, and do, cook a prime rib and a Yorkshire pudding in a one-oven stove, for instance, and who are not frightened by rotisseries. But we’ve little to say to them, really, except, “Invite us over often, please.” And stay away from our husbands…

Which brings me to the opening line of this post.  While showing my co-worker the book, she flips through the pages until she finds a recipe for turkey tetrazzini and says, “Now see, that’d be something I’d eat,” at which point I look at the page and burst out laughing because all I could think of was:

Now tell me, do you dabble in the culinary arts or do you prefer to consume rather than create? And has anyone actually eaten tetrazzini before?

7 thoughts on “Be Careful…

  1. Jessica

    I love to cook but can’t stand the steps you have to go through to get to the end product. I start mixing ingredients, skip the middle steps and out comes something sorta edible. 😉

    Never made chicken tetrazzini though. Hahahaha

    Reply
  2. Tina

    That would be a perfect cookbook for me. I hate to cook. Well more aptly I hate to cook anything that takes more than 20-30 minutes of real work.

    Reply
  3. kjpugs

    I am the LAZIEST cook ever so that is a great cookbook for people like me!

    ps LOVE the use of CHICKEN TETRAZZINI!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

