What the…??!!

While checking my email yesterday, I noticed I had a coupon for Cost Plus/World Market (it’s like Pier 1).  When I tried to print the coupon, it asked me to login to my “members rewards center.” Once I’m in, the site provided me with a list of various discounts they are offering on an assorted number of things. Towards the end of the list, one product caught my eye, and not in a “ooh, must have,” kind of way.

Say what now?! Uh…I still don’t know what to say. The description on Amazon.com says, Best served hot with custard. Is that so? haha.  Apparently it’s a traditional British sponge pudding made with golden syrup, suet and raisins.  Err…I think I’ll pass, thanks.

In other news; these past few days have been chilly! So right before leaving work last night, I decided I wanted to make tomato soup for dinner.  I stopped by Harris Teeter to pick up some sandwich bread and cheddar cheese. Can’t have tomato soup without a grilled cheese, right? I also like to poach an egg in mine which is what that giant blob in the middle is.  Nothing like homemade soup to take the chill off 🙂

What’s your favorite way to serve up tomato soup? Or if tomato is not your thing, what’s your favorite soup?

11 thoughts on “What the…??!!

  1. lifeinwhite

    Serve mine up with spotted dick.

    But really, eat bean with bacon soup and (naturally) chicken noodle. Grilled cheese preferred.

    Reply
    1. Maria Post author

      My grandma always serves tomato soup with an egg, so now I do it too. Whenever I make ramen, I also drop an egg in to beef it up a bit. I love eggs, what can I say?

      Reply
  2. Beth

    I’ve seen that in World Market before and had the exact same reaction! I’m sure it tastes fine but really? you have to call it that?

    Reply
  3. Dancy

    Haha! My Nana was British – it’s actually not bad – it’s kinda like bread pudding. And yeah she used to serve it with Bird’s custard – if you’ve never had it – it’s uhmayzing! My mom uses the custard on baked apples. It’s so good your brains will fall out.

    Reply
    1. Maria Post author

      Well then! I learned something new today! Yeah so I’ve heard about custard, my friend who’s spent time abroad said it’s a pretty spectacular thing.

      Reply
  4. bluebutterfly10

    I die every time I see the spotted dick in the international aisle! Mr. L always wants to buy it too because it cracks him up!

    Reply
  5. kjpugs

    mmmmmm…. grilled cheese and tomato soup. SUCH a cold weather staple! I also LOVE both tomato florentine and italian wedding soup.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

