Helpful Holiday Hint

Christmas shopping was pretty much locked down this past weekend and it felt GREAT! After a (for the most part) successful Thanksgiving, I went to bed after midnight after viewing and reviewing Black Friday circulars online.

Upon waking, I had the house to myself since Ale had to go to work, HAHA GOV’T EMPLOYEES! THANK YOU higher education job! I sat on the couch, with my trusty laptop on one side so I could catch twitter feeds of great Amazon deals (which definitely came in handy when it came to my sister’s present) as I watched Spongebob Squarepants episodes (what? So I’m 10, whatevs) and ate fabulous leftovers. After doing that for almost two hours, I finally decided that I would head out to Target. Not only did I go in to Target on Black Friday during lunch hour and FIND my one item of interest, I was in and out in 20min! It was SPECTACULAR!

I then went over to Marshalls and found my Christmas cards and quality wrapping paper, which by the way, brings me to my helpful holiday hint. When buying your Christmas wrapping paper, take the opportunity to stock up on non-holiday giftwrap for presents throughout the year! Oftentimes, you can find paper featuring metallic colors, whether in pattern or solids, that do not scream HAPPY HOLIDAYS and could be used to wrap wedding presents and such. I bought 3 rolls at $3/ea, two of which can be used for any number of occasions: one roll has a black and gold damask and while the other is silver with an embossed paisley pattern:

If you do not have a Marshalls/TJ Maxx/Homegoods (which has the BEST paper, IMHO ;)), remember to check out your local stationary stores like Hallmark after the holidays to take advantage of those 50% off sales!

Hopefully you found my advice helpful!

5 thoughts on “Helpful Holiday Hint

  1. Steph

    I totally watch Spongebob (and Penguins of Madagascar). I don’t judge πŸ˜‰

    And glad to hear you found what you wanted at Target, especially in 20 minutes. I can’t even do that when it’s not Black Friday.

    Reply
  2. Jessica

    Remember when I said I read this? I read it on my Blackberry, and I’m a bad friend and was too lazy to comment.

    So there ya go. I left a comment. Because you’re awesome. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  3. Christina

    I loooove me some Marshalls and TJ Maxx! I’ve never bought paper from there though – probably need to check that out sometime! I’m cheap and I buy like 5 rolls of holiday wrapping paper from Target when it’s all 90% off after Christmas.

    Reply
  4. Morgan

    Great tip on finding the wrapping paper in home goods stores! I always look in the obvious places, and end up spending way too much money on paper!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

