Just call me the Cookie Lady

If you were on Twitter this weekend, you’d know that I spent all Saturday morning baking up a storm. I made oatmeal raisin, cranberry oat bars, and sugar cookies. Here’s the recipe I used for perfectly crisp round buttery bites of perfection typically known as the sugar cookie:

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon juice (I added the lemon juice/zest)
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon zest
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
    1 teaspoon baking soda
    1 teaspoon cream of tartar
    1/2 teaspoon salt
  • Preheat oven to 375°F (190°C).
  • Cream together butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl. Beat in egg and vanilla. In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking soda, cream of tartar and salt. Slowly add flour mixture to butter mixture. Cover and chill for 2 hours.
  • Roll out chilled dough on floured surface to about 1/8-inch thick and cut into desired shapes. (I use a drinking glass to cut out circles, it’s easy and it’s the only thing I had on hand, haha)
  • Place on ungreased baking sheets and bake for 6 to 7 minutes or until lightly browned.
    Cool on the sheets about 1 minute before moving to racks. Decorate as desired.

Recipe adapted from: http://www.cooksrecipes.com/cookie/basic_sugar_cookies_recipe.html

I took some of the cookies to a cookie exchange and here are some cell pics of the fabulous treats:

Lemme tell ya, they’re all delicious! The madeleines make for a wonderful compliment to a warm cup of tea.

How was your weekend?

7 thoughts on “Just call me the Cookie Lady

  1. Christina

    Maria Fields!! 🙂 I’m glad you shared a cookie recipe – feel free to share more because those cookies look sooo good.

    I just found out I can comment on your blog from my phone – which really excites me 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

