TGIF: Year in Review

Man, 2011 has been a ridiculous ride for me!

Starting in January, I took a trip to Tennessee for my 26th birthday and then due to a freak snow storm, got stuck in the Charlotte airport on the way home and learned about relying on the kindness of strangers

February: Not much went on. I showed you how to jazz up your wall space with some fabric and canvas stretchers:

March also brought another lesson on the kindness of strangers as a bunch of my Twitter peeps, most of whom I hadn’t met in person, rallied together to raise money for another tweep to have a much needed surgery.

My little blog turned 1 in April.

May: I finally got to meet some of my super fabulous Twitter friends for the first time, in two separate occasions! That was so fun! Check out Jess‘s & Hannah‘s recaps for more details.

And to kick off the one year countdown to the wedding, Ale and I had engagement pictures done by our incredibly wonderful photographer Natalie Franke:

June was when I struggled through an intense summer school schedule, taking two courses at the same time which led to four night classes a week for six weeks. It was a doozy.

July was when the boy and I did fun wedding stuff like food tastings! July is also the month in which I finally decided to tackle the c25k running program with Ale. That was a big step as I am not a runner by any stretch of the imagination.

In August, I experienced my first earthquake, as did most people from the DC area. That was nuts! Luckily, no one was hurt.

September marked the beginning of my last semester of grad school as well as the month I put all the hard work I did in completing the c25k program to the test in my first 5k.

October: I debuted my most clever Halloween costume and cemented my feelings on marathons.

November: Being so busy with school, I didn’t do much of anything other than freak out about what lies ahead.

December: Hands down, the best month of 2011 for me: I ran another 5k! I had dinner  with my blogger friends again!I FINISHED GRAD SCHOOL! I made vegan chocolate truffles and other assorted treats!

Comparing to last year’s recap, I’m so proud of myself of meeting at least 1 of my 2 goals for 2011 and that was getting fit! I finally made fitness a part of my routine and as I train for my first half marathon in March, I know I can and WILL keep this up! As for my other goal (learning to decorate cookies), there’s always next year 😛

I feel 2011 has been quite the adventure for me, so full new and great experiences! I’ve met and been influenced by so many different people and I’m so grateful for that! 😀 😀 😀

Anywho, have a great weekend but more so, have a great 2012!! Best wishes!!

5 thoughts on “TGIF: Year in Review

  1. Layla

    Oh my gosh, I forgot all about the freak snowstorm and you being stranded at the airport! I think that’s right about the time we actually “met!” Finishing grad school = truly amazing year. 🙂 Here’s to an even more amazing 2012!

    Reply
  2. Hannah

    What a wonderful year! Really, you got to do so much and get so healthy. I’m really inspired but all of the work you’ve done to make yourself healthy – maybe I can follow suit this year!
    Oh and lets hang out again this year – I know you say “kindness of strangers” but you really were a total sweetheart when you let me into your home – so remember how big your heart is, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

