I Work Out

Cue my song::

Dude, I’m at the halfway point of my half-marathon training! Last Saturday I ran 6 miles in the flippin’ cold. That’s the longest I’ve ever ran in my LIFE. And it was no big deal! Well, wait, it was a big deal the first 3 miles as I cursed myself  and questioned my sanity with every single step but the last 3 were smooth sailing! WHO AM I!?

I NEVER imagined I would get to a point in my life where six miles could be described as “no big deal.” Trust me when I say, I am NOT a runner. I run pretty slow and average a 10:30-11min mile. It’s not something I’m good at but that’s why I do it. I need a challenge to drive me and hold me accountable.

ANYWAY, this post was not suppose to be about running. It was suppose to be about yoga! Yesterday I tried hot power yoga (not to be confused with bikram which is WAY hotter) and I liked it! At first I was like, “What the heck did I get myself into? It’s hot as Hell in this room! Who does this on the regular? Do I look like a total n00b bc I’m not wearing Lululemon? I wonder what to make for dinner. How long is this? An hour? Good grief…

But once the instructor starting getting into the moves, I started digging it. By the end of class, I felt so stretched out and limber, like a cooked spaghetti noodle. Best part was the class was only $5 and the money goes to help a local women’s shelter.

Happy hour power yoga: does the body and soul good 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “I Work Out

  1. Layla

    Yeah, girl YEAH! You’re a runner. 🙂

    I want to try hot yoga! Our classes are def not $5, but I wish I could find something like that here!

    Reply
  2. Jessica T

    Yayyy for 6 miles!! You + me + half marathon next year? 😉
    I haven’t heard of anywhere near me that does hot yoga or anything, I’ll have to look into it post-baby.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

