April Haps

Although March was a weird month in that it had its highs and lows as far as pacing, April is going to be one wild ride from start to finish for me, especially when it comes to wedding related things!

For starters, this weekend I visited my venue during an open house. I hadn’t seen it since we booked it in February…of last year! Last time I was there, the grounds were completely covered under a blanket of snow whereas this time around, it was soaked in beautiful sunshine. Now that there was no snow in sight, I finally got to see where the fire pit was (Hello! Can we say smores?) as well as check out other potential after-party spaces should we want to bring the apres-wedding festivities indoors (and avoid the bugs).

Other weekend activities included receiving our first wedding present, gifted to us by Ale’s grandparents: six placesettings of china!

The sad thing is that while the pattern is relatively new, it’s being discontinued 😦 Luckily, Ale’s grandma checked the Waterford site to see if it was available when the department store I registered at listed the items as “limited quantity.” I was so excited to receive the beautiful and very generous gift that I spent the rest of the evening exclaiming “It’s china!,” much to Ale’s chargin.

As far as the rest of the month:

We are meeting with our new officiant, I have my second/final dress fitting, I will be attending my bridal shower, and I am participating in another 5k (my third since I started running in July).

Phew:::

What’s your April looking like?

5 thoughts on “April Haps

  1. Maria

    Oooh, fire pit! Please tell me you are using it for smores for the late night reception snack!

    I’m going to VA this April (yay!) and will be in DC for a few days for a work conference. If only my evenings during the conference were free we could meet up…

    Reply
  2. Jessica

    Smore’s yay!! πŸ˜€
    Note to self: bring after wedding party clothes. πŸ˜‰
    Also, I’m so jealous you got china! We didn’t get any of ours. I need to start buying pieces but we have nowhere to put it.

    Reply
  3. Heather

    Smores at a wedding in the best idea I have heard in a long, long time. The venue looks so sweet! I love it! And your china is so pretty. Our “good plates” are big, heavy, green, and square. Oh, and a number of them have chips. Color me jealous.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

