Snow Day Essentials

We are supposedly in store for quite a snow storm ’round these here parts. I’m in the “yay snow” camp because I’m fortunate enough to work for a university that has snow days!

What do I need when “stuck” indoors? (Stuck being used loosely here because I LOVE being snowbound): 2 dozen eggs, a freshly opened bag of flour, sugar, and 4lbs of butter! Oh and prayers that the electricity doesn’t go out because my oven is electric, eep! My back-up plan is to run over to the neighbors house because they have gas. (Wipes brow)

If you happen to be stuck indoors too, may I suggest you bake/make:

Barefoot Contessa’s Lemon Yogurt Cake (I subbed lime for lemon, greek yogurt for the regular yogurt, and coconut oil for the vegetable oil)

Two Peas and their Pod Lemon Sugar Cookies (pillowy centers and crisp edges, soo good! You won’t be able to stop at one!)

Waffles from Allrecipes.com (they freeze well so you can make a big batch and enjoy them over the week)

Old Fashioned Pancakes from Allrecipes.com (these also freeze well)

Hey and who knows, maybe with the extra free time, I’ll get to work on more art for the nursery! It’s coming along so swimmingly, I can’t wait to show you!

What do you like to do/eat on a snow day?

2 thoughts on “Snow Day Essentials

  1. Maria

    Romantic comedies (good thing I have a collection), hot tea, lounge pants and a blanket. Food: chicken noodle soup and grilled cheese! Okay, now I’m totally jealous of your snow days.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

