The Nursery

Hi folks. If you didn’t know by now, I’ve had a beautiful baby girl named Alissa! I just love her to the moon and back! I feel so blessed to have her in my life and be her mom. She came a little early and celebrated Mother’s Day with me in my arms instead of my belly. How considerate right? And although the first couple of nights were a little hard (feedings every 2hrs=the worst), caring for this tiny person has been the best job ever! Now I’m not going to promise a post about her birth story because clearly I am not consistent with this blogging business but I am here to finally share her nursery!

While she currently sleeps at night in her pack-n-play in my bedroom, she and I actually spend a fair amount of time in the nursery which is my most favorite room ever! Ale and I started working on the room when I was 25 weeks pregnant (hello nesting!) and finished around 35 weeks. I had so much fun putting it together. And without further ado, here are some pics!

DSC_0647When decorating, I didn’t want anything “matchy-matchy” as it’s not my style. I like things to “go” but not match up perfectly. I knew from the get-go, I did NOT want pink walls so I chose Behr’s Adriatic Mist instead. It’s a kinda an aqua blue and the picture below shows it more true to life. It looks so pretty in person. Almost like an oceany tiffany blue.

And obviously, we went with white furniture. Ale picked out a crib from walmart while I found an Ikea Hemnes dresser on Craigslist that I updated with teal knobs from Hobby Lobby. The little name stool by the window was a sweet gift from our neighbors.

DSC_0648The rocker is another CL score. It was only $30! The seller told me his wife rocked their two babies in it and I said I intended to do the same 🙂 The purple knitted pouf is from Tillys and Maria actually found that one for me one afternoon when I was whining to her on gchat that I couldn’t find a reasonably priced ottoman for the nursery. She scoured the internet for me and voila, we got ourselves a pouf!

The wall art above the crib and the two white framed hearts by the closet were diys made by me. The posters in the green frames behind the rocker are from the ChildrenInspire shop on Etsy. The alphabet one is in Spanish and the numbers one is in Italian. They may have been the first thing I ever purchased for Alissa. I’m hoping to display them in her room as she grows up as they aren’t too babyish. And really, come to think of it, most things in her nursery aren’t babyish and can be reused in a “big girl” room.

DSC_0650

You can thank a trip to Homegoods for the round mirror. The bookshelf was gifted and painted by one of my baby shower hostesses. The dresses above the bookshelf are some of the Lilly Pulitzer dresses Alissa was also gifted by my baby shower hostesses. The shower theme was Lilly and the girls hung the dresses on a clothesline as party decorations which gave me the idea to hang them up in the nursery! They’re too pretty to be tucked away in a closet!

And that’s it! I hope you like the room as much as I do. I absolutely love to sit in it while nursing. Everything about it makes me smile! That, and the cute baby in my arms 🙂

Happy weekend!

 

Leave a Reply

