Post Pregnancy Workout

Let me tell you what I’m up to now that I am no longer toting a gigantic belly around and do not rock the same night owl habits I had pre-baby. The short version: I’m all about quick and efficient these days!

Before our move and my pregnancy, I use to go to the gym at 9 or 10 o’clock at night and run 3-5 miles on the treadmill. I’d maybe throw in a couple of strength training moves if I was feeling up to it. I got a list of sets from when I did a modified version of Jamie Eason’s Livefit Trainer when I was getting ready for the wedding. It was nice because the gym was only 2 miles away from our condo and closed at 11p. My sleep wasn’t interrupted from the late night sweat session and actually helped me sleep better.

I cancelled my gym membership when we moved because the closet location was 10 miles away and totally out of the way. When we moved, it made me commute hella long and I was already pregnant, so there was no motivation to work out after 9p.

So that leads us to my present day routine: I try to hold myself accountable every other day. I try to go for a run in the morning, in between baby’s morning feeding at 5a and when Ale leaves for work at 8a. Lucky for me, we have some great running paths right outside our door:

trail running

I’m currently tackling 2 miles each time which takes me about 25min to complete. And if I’m feeling quite energized and ambitious (and still have time before the baby wakes) I squeeze in a 15min total body Tone It Up strength training video. Those girls are no joke. You are left feeling like jello (in the best way possible) after each session.

If I can’t get in my ideal workout (run+strength), I make it a point to complete at least 1 10min popsugarfitness video during naptime. You wouldn’t think a 10min video would do anything but you’d be wrong, so wrong! It hurts so good!

And as far as my running and love of races, I’m currently planning to do 3 more races before the end of the year. I’m thinking 1 5k in September and December and possibly a 10k in November. The way I see it, signing up for these races is like paying a monthly gym membership as well as a great motivator to lace up my sneakers and get out the door!

Come back later this week when I recap my latest 5k. Spoiler alert: I loved it!

Now I hear a baby stir, g2g!

Leave a Reply

