Current Reads

Since I find a decent amount of time to myself in the evenings while narco (just one of the baby’s many nicknames, this one being short for narcoleptic) sleeps, I’m getting back to reading. I am currently enjoying two Michael Pollan ebooks courtesy of my local library: Cooked

image from npr site

and The Omnivore’s Dilemma

image from npr

I’ve never read any of his books but I did watch the documentary Food, Inc, as recommended by Maria, in which he served as a collaborator. I found the documentary totally interesting (available on Netflix), but if you do not like knowing where food comes from (not a judgment ) I would not suggest you watch it. My husband is squeamish and does not enjoy that kind of thing. It’s not a PETA-like campaign if that’s what you’re thinking, but it is informative view of the food industry in the United States! If anything, it inspired me to branch out and try farmers markets this summer. Just yesterday, I picked up some local peaches and tomatoes at this great farm stand my neighbor told me about!

I’m learning in my old age (coming up on thirty in January!) that I’d rather read nonfiction over fiction any day. Nonfiction I can eat up quickly and move on to the next one. Fiction and especially the kind I like to read (aka nothing written in this century), takes me ages to tackle. The last fictional book I read was East of Eden by John Steinbeck. Took me MONTHS to finish. It’s not to say I didn’t like it! It just takes me forever. I’m weird, I know.

In addition to these, I’m also finally reading the second edition of Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson.

image from amazon

 

I bought a used copy LAST summer and I’m only just now cracking it open. Why I didn’t buy the latest edition is beyond me, whomp whomp. Anyway, I’m only a few pages in but it’s definitely helped me grasp photography concepts way better than any blog or infographic I’ve read thus far. Hopefully by the end of it, I can finally feel comfortable rocking the manual mode on my dslr. I already have a cute subject, now I just need the skills to best capture her adorableness!

 

.

2 thoughts on “Current Reads

  1. Maria

    I am the opposite of you. I read 99% fiction (most of it is fluff though, haven’t read Steinbeck since high school). That being said, this summer I read Intuitive Eating by Risch/Tribole (2012 version) and absolutely loved it. This addition has a section about kids, which I even read too and will bookmark for down the road. It actually reads kind of like a R.D. textbook (or at least what I THINK an R.D. textbook would be like), but there’s so much good information and research studies that are reviewed in it.

    I always watch Food Inc. when I need a gentle reminder to eat some veggies in my life 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

