Creative in the Kitchen

In my last post, I mentioned how I have recently had a bit of a cooking renaissance. I had been in bit of an imaginative funk and didn’t realize it. Some days, cooking dinner seemed like such a daunting task! And baking? I saw it more of a chore than a much loved hobby.

Thankfully, I’m over it and slowly waking up my culinary senses! What helped me dust off the cobwebs is a food delivery service called Blue Apron. Our friends so graciously gifted us 2 4 person meals for Christmas. In a package, you receive all the perfectly portioned out ingredients for two gourmet meals. All you have to do is prep and cook. First up was a traditional Japanese ramen:

IMG_3216

Aside from my sad looking soft boiled egg, that soup was legit! I had never made anything like it before. Was definitely a new cooking adventure that I was happy to make and consume.

The second meal was a blood orange salmon with Israeli couscous:

IMG_3224Again, something I had never attempted before but I can’t wait to make again if only just for the presentation factor alone! After making such a fun and pretty meals, I’ve kinda rethought my meal planning! Nowadays, I might buy extra ingredients I usually wouldn’t bother with like fresh herbs or green onions, just to add that extra oomph and pizzaz to my dishes. Heck I’ve even stepped up my dessert game! Whereas before I never thought too hard on dessert and would fix myself the occasional bowl of ice cream, I now find myself thinking of fun, fancier ways to make the ordinary extraordinary. Like for instance, instead of just ice cream, I made peanut butter cookie vanilla ice cream sandwiches rolled in chocolate sprinkles: IMG_3255And not to be outdone, after tonight’s dinner, I made little individual chocolate cakes in ramekins garnished with sliced strawberries. Clearly I’m on a mission to not lose any more baby weight. So much for fit mom, haha! She’ll appreciate my culinary ventures more later on than my athletic abilities any way, right? Let’s hope so!

2 thoughts on “Creative in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

