Weekend Recap

Talk about a killer weekend! Not only was the weather warm and bright, I got to see some of my favorite peeps, do a little shopping, and bake up some divine desserts!

On Friday, I got to see my girl Ags who was in town for the week. We went on an epic quest to find jeans (what a hard endeavor, right?) Not only did we find some fabulous denim, we found all sorts of goodies while strolling through the mall. For example, we both picked up these new sunbleached sweatshirts from Old Navy. SO COMFY! And cute! Its like the most comfortable and attractive loungewear on the planet!.

On Saturday, I went out with Lucy to run errands at Container Store where I bought this towel rack to use as a jewelry organizer:

IMG_3093

One of my better ideas, right?

And of course, it’s not a productive weekend if I don’t squeeze in a little baking and I made some key lime bars. I borrowed Jenna‘s shortbread-like crust for my base and the Neelys’ recipe for the lime topping. I originally made one batch for Ags but upon licking the spatula clean while it baked, I decided I needed to make me some! They’re just that good!

lime squares

Lime Bars

For Crust:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, cold

For Lime Layer:

  • 4 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 2/3 cups sugar
  • 6 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup Nellie and Joe’s key-lime juice (or regular lime juice) plus 2 tablespoons
  • Confectioners’ sugar, for garnish

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350’F. Grease an 8X8 pan. Whisk flour, powdered sugar, and salt. Cut cold butter into the mixture until you get a crumbly texture. Press mixture into greased pan and bake for 20min. Take out when done.

Meanwhile, mix eggs, sugar, flour, and lime juice together and pour onto hot crust and put back into oven for 30min. Once bars have done baking, let cool and dust some confectioners sugar on top before cutting into 16 squares and ENJOY!

3 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

Leave a comment